My New Book is Coming out October 8th – “Remembering Mississippi’s Confederates”

I have some big news to announce – my latest book, Remembering Mississippi’s Confederates, is coming out on October 8, 2012. It is being published by Arcadia Press, and I must say that they have done a wonderful job – I received my complimentary copies yesterday, and was blown away by how well the book turned out:

The cover image for the book is a photograph of a group of Mississippi veterans taken in 1921 on the Harrisburg Battlefield near Tupelo. The tree in the background behind them was struck by a cannonball during the fighting.

Remembering Mississippi’s Confederates is a photographic tribute to the men who fought so gallantly for their state during the Civil War. Many of the images in this volume have come from the proud descendants of the soldiers themselves; others were acquired from collections spread across the United States. The book contains nearly 200 photographs of Mississippi’s Confederate soldiers, and I believe the majority of them have never been published before. If anyone would like more information about Remembering Mississippi’s Confederates, I have set up a facebook page for it that I will be posting new information to on a regular basis: http://www.facebook.com/RememberingMississippisConfederates. The book will retail for $21.99 plus shipping, and if anyone is interested in ordering an autographed copy, feel free to contact me at: championhilz@att.net.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “My New Book is Coming out October 8th – “Remembering Mississippi’s Confederates”

  1. Reblogged this on Poore Boys In Gray and commented:
    I like to share news about new resources when I learn of them and I am looking forward to getting a copy of this book. I have been amazed that when you really study a photo’s detail, it reveals a wealth of information.

  2. I will order a copy also for my Great Grandfather served in 1st Missippi Light Artillery Co I Valdians Co. I have yet to find anything more than his muster records, but it was enough to establish my membership in SCV. His name was Junius Cunningham Harris.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

